Which players have won the Premier League Golden Boot? Who won the most?

The Premier League officially started in 1992, taking over as England’s top division.

In the 30 years since, some of the biggest names in world football have plied their trades in the Premier League, including some of the most prolific strikers in history. Players like Thierry Henry, Didier Drogba, Alan Shearer and Mohamed Salah have terrorized opposing defenses during their respective spells in the league, but who has won the most Golden Boots? And which player holds the record for most Premier League goals in a single season?

DAZN answers these questions below:

Who has won the most Premier League Gold Boot awards?

It may come as no surprise to fans who watched the Premier League in the early 2000s, but Thierry Henry holds the record for most Golden Boots with four.

Henry was the league’s top scorer in 2001-02, 2003-04, 2004-05 and 2005-06, while wearing Arsenal’s red and white shirt. The French star helped the Gunners win the Premier League title twice in those four seasons (01-02 and 03-04).

Who holds the record for most goals scored in a season in the Premier League?

Andy Cole and Alan Shearer scored 34 goals in consecutive campaigns (1993-94 and 1994-95, respectively), which remains the Premier League single-season goalscoring record.

However, Cole and Shearer enjoyed a 42-game season which was the norm for the Premier League until the 1995-96 campaign when the current 38-game fixture list became the norm.

Liverpool ace Mohamed Salah holds the single-season record of 38 games, having netted 32 times during the 2017-18 campaign to win his first of three Golden Boot awards.

In terms of goalscoring rate, Harry Kane’s 0.97 goals per game in 2016-17 is the standard bearer. Kane hit the rate by scoring 29 goals in 30 games that season.

Premier League Golden Boot winners by year

1992-93 – Terry Sheringham (Tottenham), 22 goals

1993-94 – Andy Cole (Newcastle United), 34 goals

1994-95 – Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers), 34 goals

1995-96 – Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers), 31 goals

1996-97 – Alan Shearer (Newcastle United), 25 goals

1997-98 – Chris Sutton (Blackburn Rovers), Dion Dublen (Coventry City), Michael Owen (Liverpool), 18 goals

1998-99 – Michael Owen (Liverpool), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United), Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds United), 18 goals

1999-00 – Kevin Phillips (Sunderland), 30 goals

2000-01 – Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Chelsea), 23 goals

2001-02 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 24 goals

2002-03 – Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United), 25 goals

2003-04 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 30 goals

2004-05 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 25 goals

2005-06 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 27 goals

2006-07 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 20 goals

2007-08 – Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), 31 goals

2008-09 – Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), 19 goals

2009-10 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 29 goals

2010-11 – Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Dimitar Berbatov (Manchester United), 20 goals

2011-12 – Robin van Persie (Arsenal), 30 goals

2012-13 – Robin van Persie (Manchester United), 26 goals

2013-14 – Luis Suarez (Liverpool), 31 goals

2014-15 – Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), 26 goals

2015-16 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 25 goals

2016-17 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 29 goals

2017-18 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 32 goals

2018-19 – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Sadio Mané (Liverpool), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 22 goals

2019-20 – Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), 23 goals

2020-21 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 23 goals

2021-22 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Son Heung-min (Tottenham), 23 goals

Previous Watch: Ranking names the best college football helmet
Next Man Utd risk more 'disharmony' with Ronaldo as transfer stance emerges | Soccer | sport